top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGCube Freelance

How to Overcome Overthinking Everything?

Don’t tell yourself to stop overthinking because you can’t just quit your thoughts but rather deal with them. Overcoming overthinking, stress, negative thoughts
How to Overcome Overthinking Everything

In these trying times, we experience a lot of stress, anxiety and trials. That is physically, mentally, emotionally, and spiritually draining.



What is Overthinking?

Overthinking is putting too much time thinking and analyzing insignificant details in a way that is more harmful than helpful overthinking a situation or problem or someone's opinion. Overthinking is different for everyone. It depends on what a person's situation is. For others, it’s a once-in-a-while occurrence, depending on social interaction or situation. But for some, it affects all persons aspects of life. For me, it’s when I get stuck up in an unfulfilling job, and then this pandemic comes. I overthink about the past, going over the decisions I made that had led to where I am now. I ask myself if I studied what I wanted before. I would question things would have been if I surrounded myself with a group of different people. And also overthink about the future. I see myself in the same spot 5 to 10 years from now, worrying if it’s too late to change the path. What will happen if I stay or what will happen if I try it differently? Will I regret this decision or not? These clouds of thoughts are throughout my head day and night that eventually, I experience anxiety.


Many of those questions are reasonable questions. But one day, what came up to me is that I am wasting my time being unproductive thinking about things that are not helpful in the situation. So I find ways to overcome this overthinking cycle. Don’t tell yourself to stop overthinking because I believe that you can’t just quit your thoughts but rather deal with them.

 

Here the things that I considered helping me go through my whirlwind of thoughts:



1. Make up your mind. You should be aware of what is going on with your head.

Suppose you are overthinking or thinking negatively. Weigh the pros & cons of the situation. Is it helping you overthink these things? Are you productive?



2. Be honest with yourself. Admit it! Some of us tend to feel avoidance of fear because we are ashamed of what others might think about us. Or we can’t face our fears. We don’t have to pretend that everything is OK!

3. Accept the past. What happened in the past, whatever that decision you made, is a part of you. We have to accept it. Self-improvement begins in self-acceptance. Always remember that everything is a learning experience, whether good or bad.

4. Journal your thoughts. Go over your thoughts, write them one by one. Even if they are negative ones, it’ll help you get an overview of what is happening or the noise inside your mind. By doing so, it can also help you express your feelings. No one will judge you!

5. Detoxify yourself from social media. Allow yourself to step back, breathe and have some space. We all know social media is really compelling, and sometimes it can influence us. A lot of negative news is happening around us. We speculate that someone has a better social life than ours. But in reality, they are not. Take time to relax your mind and distract yourself into happiness.

6. God holds your future. Let us constantly remind ourselves that God is still in control of everything because He is trustworthy. Indulge more in the presence of the Lord because with Him; you will find true peace. Decide not to be anxious. Pray about it.



 

We cannot avoid overwhelming or stressful days. But be ready in whatever situation you are about to face. Instead of thinking negatively, it’s better to prepare yourself for the breakthrough and success that God planted for you in His perfect time.


And the scripture says… “Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.” - Philippians 4:6-8 NIV


“Any action is often better than no action, especially if you have been stuck in an unhappy situation for a long time. If it is a mistake, at least you learn something, in which case it's no longer a mistake. If you remain stuck, you learn nothing.” ― Eckhart Tolle



59 views0 comments
bottom of page